Creating an effective IT Strategy

For this post, I am assuming that I have just become an IT Director of a large multinational company. Now, I know I have a honeymoon period of six months including the crucial first 100 days. So, my IT Strategy will be communicated to the business within the first 100 days. I need to ensure that within the first three months, I have networked extensively  and have met the key decision makers ansd senior personnel within the business. I need to have a clear understanding of how well aligned the boards view of IT within the business is compared to senior middle management. I also need to understand their issues, problems and visions of IT or lack of vision and if that is the case, I need to probe further. The next step is to understand how effective and successful my predecessor’s IT Strategy was and how people viewed that strategy. Understanding how my own staff function and taking on board their opinions and feedback would assist aswell. Armed with this info, I would set out to create the IT Strategy.

About mubbisherahmed
I am passionate about IT and its ability to deliver cost effective, value for money solutions that can enhance performance and in many cases provide competitive advantage by using a range of solutions and approaches in innovative ways.

Leave a Reply

