2. 12-24 month IT Strategy

This is where I usually try and find out more about my staff. I need to know their skillsets so I would set about creating skills matrix. Once the skills matrix is complete, it would help me identify, for example, areas in my department that are weak, strengths and areas that I can look to outsource.  Armed with this information, I would set about creating a new  deaprtment structure, appraise the staff and define KPI’s and ensure IT was delivering value to the business.

I would then set the staff a task of re-examining the existing policies, procedures, methodologies and standards that the department should start to use or are already using. This task will help identify staff with drive and enthusiasm and identify the lateral thinkers. The staff with out of the box solutions. This is important as once these positive and lateral thinkers have been identified, they can be given the more responsible tasks. These tasks will not only be completed with committment and passion but also challenge not only my thinking but that of the department. That is exactly what I want. I want to identify innovative cost effective solutions and for my department to challenge why we do what we do on a daily basis.

About mubbisherahmed
I am passionate about IT and its ability to deliver cost effective, value for money solutions that can enhance performance and in many cases provide competitive advantage by using a range of solutions and approaches in innovative ways.

Leave a Reply

