2.1 12-24 month IT Strategy

I am probably approaching the end of my first year of employment. So far, I was provided a budget and a wish list of projects that the business wanted/needed/thought they needed. I have achieved a lot in the past year. I have analysed the systems, marked systems that need to be rationalised, delivered a strategy, know my key movers/shakers and am in the process of reissuing new procedures/policies.

For this new year, I would like to create a budget that will be aligned to my vision (If you haven’t got one, create one). In this instance my vision is clear. I want to deliver the capability for the business to be able to deliver products to the marketplace securely and quickly. To deliver that vision, I am taking all the neccessary steps (See previous posts).

This is where governance principles/methodologies can help immensely. For example, policies have been communicated and we are delivering projects to Prince2 standards, ITIL, Sarbanes Oxley etc. Don’t forget that my vision did state securely, so I will ensure that I have a project/programme that ensures that requirement can be met.  Establish good cost controls and ensure that you have a list of all your customers and their touch points.

About mubbisherahmed
I am passionate about IT and its ability to deliver cost effective, value for money solutions that can enhance performance and in many cases provide competitive advantage by using a range of solutions and approaches in innovative ways.

Leave a Reply

